Copy article link
OLEAN Six recent area graduates recently received scholarship awards from funds managed by the Cattaraugus Region Community Foundation to support their pursuit of education- and law enforcement-related fields of study.
Sarah Beaver of Otto-Eldred (Pa.), Panya Cammeyer of Portville and Emma Dwaileeebe of Olean each received the Ben & Rose Schwabenbauer Educational Scholarship for $850.
The scholarship provides three annual scholarships for graduating seniors from Otto-Eldred High School, Bradford (Pa.) Area High School, Olean High School or Portville Central School who will be attending a four-year school. Preference is for students planning to pursue a degree or career in education, law enforcement or a related field.
Beaver will attend Penn State University, State College, Pa., to study agriculture and extension education. Cammeyer will study applied forensics science at Mercyhurst University, Erie, Pa. Dwaileebe plans to study philosophy at Lafayette University, Easton, Pa., with the goal of pursuing a career in education policy.
Dwaileebe also received the Signe, Svenborg, Agnes and Selma Johnson Scholarship for $1,150.
Established through the trust of Signe H. Johnson, this scholarship is given to Olean High School seniors with preference given to students who have strong educational/career goals or who plan to pursue a degree in teaching. The scholarship is named for Johnson who taught at both Olean and Portville schools, and her sisters, Svenborg, Agnes and Selma, all of whom were Olean High teachers.
Jilllian Long of Portville Central School received the Signe H. Johnson Scholarship for $1,100.
The scholarship, established by the trust of Signe H. Johnson, is for a Portville Central School senior with a preference for a student pursuing a degree in teaching or who has strong educational/career goals.
Trending Food Videos
Long will attend SUNY Geneseo to study English adolescent education.
Jared Morgan of Olean received the inaugural Dr. Brian OConnell Sr. Memorial Scholarship for $500.
This scholarship, established in memory of Dr. Brian OConnell, who worked for 37 years in the Olean district before retiring as the principal of Ivers J. Norton Elementary School, is for graduating high school seniors or graduates of Olean who will be attending or are currently enrolled in college and plan to pursue a degree in an education-related academic major.
Morgan will study adolescent education and biology at St. Bonaventure University.
Allegany-Limestone’s Izabella Provorse received the Deputy Wayne Krieger and Carol Krieger Memorial Scholarship for $500.
This scholarship benefits graduating seniors of Cattaraugus and Allegany counties high schools intending to study criminal justice, with a preference for a student who is a BOCES criminal justice student. The fund also supports an annual scholarship for a student attending the Cattaraugus County Sheriff’s Academy.
Provorse will attend Jamestown Community College to begin her studies in psychology.
Donations can be made to either of these funds at CRCF, 301 North Union St., Suite 203 in Olean, or online at